## **Press Releases**

## AT GGI THE INFN MILLA BALDO CEOLIN PRIZE IS AWARDED TO THE BEST RECENT FEMALE GRADUATES IN THEORETICAL PHYSICS



Fostering and encouraging young female researchers in theoretical physics: this is the goal of the INFN Milla Baldo Ceolin Prize, which, now in its fourth year, was awarded to ten brilliant recent female graduates, on October 8<sup>th</sup>.

The young female students who wrote the best master's theses in theoretical physics in 2023 are: Matilde Barberi Squarotti (University of Turin), Marta Cocco (University of Perugia), Beatrice Costeri (University of Pavia), Alessandra Grieco

(University of Padua), Nanako Kato (University of Cagliari), Giulia Muco (Sapienza University of Rome), Miriam Patricolo (University of Pisa), Laura Pezzella (Sapienza University of Rome), Agnese Tolino (University of Turin) and Alison Warman (University of Genoa).

The prize is named after a great scientist, a researcher of international fame, for a long time the director of the INFN Padua Division and the first woman to hold a chair at the University of Padua: Milla Baldo Ceolin conducted research in the field of particle physics, working on the Berkeley and Argonne accelerators in the United States, the ITEP accelerator in Moscow and the ILL reactor in Grenoble, France, in addition to the CERN accelerator machines. The ceremony was attended by Galileo Galilei Institute Director Stefania De Curtis, INFN National Commission for Theoretical Physics Chairman Fulvio Piccinini, and INFN President Antonio Zoccoli. It was followed by the screening of the documentary "Galileo (R)evolution - The Path of Science", which proposes a dialogue between Galileo's life and that of the new generation of scientists.

Questo sito si serve di cookie per gestire autenticazione, navigazione e altre funzioni. Servendoti del nostro sito acconsenti al collocamento di questo tipo di cookie sul tuo dispositivo.

Visualizza la ns. Informativa Estesa.

Accetto