

AUGUST 2019



RECOGNITIONS SUPERGRAVITY WINS THE 2019 BREAKTHROUGH PRIZE

The 2019 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics, which is worth 3 million dollars, was awarded to the theoretical physicists Sergio Ferrara (CERN and INFN Frascati National Laboratories), Dan

Freedman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Stanford University), and Peter van Nieuwenhuizen (Stony Brook University) for the "invention of supergravity, in which quantum variables are part of the description of the geometry of spacetime". Ferrara, Freedman and van Nieuwenhuizen are the architects of supergravity, a very influential theory dating back to 1976 that successfully integrated the force of gravity with a particular type of quantum field theory. The winners will be given their prize at a ceremony that will take place on 3 November 2019 at NASA.